Exercise: Back Strengthening

I have had back pain most of my life and it has been flairing up lately, so I thought I would find me some exercises to help strengthen the back.  I know I am not alone in this, a lot of people have back pain – take charge of it now!!

Ankle pumps

Lie flat on your back.

Move ankles up and down (flex them up and then point.)

 Repeat 10 times.

 

 Pelvic tilt

Start on your back with your knees bent and your feet flat on the floor.

 Your arms can either rest on your hips or you can place them under your head.

 Tighten your abdominal muscles and push your lower back into the floor — think about flattening your back against the floor and don’t raise your low back off the floor.

 Hold for 5 seconds.

 Relax.

 Repeat 10 times.

 

Yoga child pose

Get down on all fours with hands and knees on ground.

Bring your rear end back onto your legs and stretch your arms in front of you with your hands on the ground.

Hold for up to 30 seconds.

Return to the starting position.

Repeat 5 times.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Love this. I still have back issues from pregnancy and I’ve been looking for some stretches to help.

    Reply

  2. I need to strengthen my back! Thank you for the post. It was a nice reminder.

    Reply

  3. Eventually, when it comes to carbohydrate intake and finding quick 6 pack abs, you wish to focus almost all of your carbohydrate intake round the post workout period. Why! The largest reason for the reason is since this is when your body is going to require those carbs the most and will really suck them up into the muscle tissue. When you eat them at this time, it can be most unlikely that they’re going to turn into blubber. In addition, consuming carbs in this period will also aid to help with muscle recovery and correct, so that implies less down time from the gymnasium for you.

    Reply

Leave a comment